Translate This Page


The story of the formation of Mainsqueeze is inherently linked to its precedents Sweet Pain and The Famous Blues Blasters. The story really begins way back in 1968 with the recording of the original Sweet Pain Album.  Sweet Pain was a record project organized by John O'Leary and bass player Keith Tillman. Keith was a great bass player and having previously been a member of Georgie Flame & The Blue Flames, John Mayall's Blues Breakers and Aynsley Dunbar's Retaliation was well connected and had access to a pool of stellar musicians. John O'Leary at that time was a member of The John Dummer Blues Band and persuaded Mercury A&R man and Producer Brian Shepherd to record an all star British blues session under the collective name of Sweet Pain.  The Sweet Pain album described by Melody Maker as "hot & heavy" was released in 1969 in both the UK and the U.S. Featuring John on harmonica, Dick Heckstall-Smith (saxophones), Victor Brox (vocals/trumpet/piano/12 string guitar), Annette Brox (vocals), Stuart Cowell (guitar), Keith Tillman (bass) and Aynsley Dunbar (drums), it resulted in some great music; all originals with the exception of "Trouble In Mind".  In the U.S. it was regarded as one of the first Brit blues super groups. Anysley Dunbar and Victor Brox who were under contract to Liberty at the time play under the pseudonyms of Junior Dunn and Sam Crozier respectively.
At the time of it's release it was impossible to organize a tour due to prior commitments by Victor & Anysley and the band did not perform any live gigs.
In the late 70's, John and Keith Tillman got together again under the banner of The Famous Blues Blasters and using the nucleus of Sweet Pain in Victor Brox and Dick Heckstall-Smith began working the London club scene once more.  There were plenty of gigs at that time and it attracted the attention of  Gil Scott-Heron's UK agents Andy Nazer & Mark Harrison who now took them on board.  It was decided to revamp the image and at Keef Hartley's suggestion was renamed Mainsqueeze. With the change of name so also came a revised line-up. The new band with John, Dick and Victor from the Blues Blasters, now included guitarist Eric Bell from Thin Lizzy,  Keef Hartley on drums, alto saxophonist/vocalist Diana Wood, and keyboard player Dave "Munch" Moore.  Mainsqueeze went on to play The  Hammersmith Apollo, Ronnie Scott's, The Embassy Club, Dingwalls, The Venue Victoria and toured the UK, France, Scandanavia, Holland, Belgium Denmark, Italy and Germany. Mainsqueeze recorded one official live albums "Live at Ronnie Scott's" released on the Expulsion label and a live broadcast from Radio Bremen has subsequently was made available as a download.
Following the Italian tour Diana Wood & John O'Leary quit the band and a rump version of the band continued as a backing band for U.S. harp player James Cotton and Bo Diddley.

John o'Leary blues garmonica.....since 1965!

All Rights Reserved