The original John Dummer Blues Band is returning from September 2016. 

Dave Kelly (vocals/guitar), John O'Leary (harp), Adrian Pietryga (guitar), Bob Hall (piano), Iain "Thump" Thompson (bass), John Dummer (drums) and special guest Tony McPhee.

Formed in 1965 out of the ashes of The Grebbles, The John Dummer Blues Band followed in the footsteps of The Rolling Stone and The Downliners Sect and took over the regular Sunday afternoon residency at Studio 51 Club in London's West End. The new band with John Dummer on drums,  featured Dave Kelly & Tony McPhee (guitars/vocals), John O'Leary (harmonica), Bob Hall (piano), Iain "Thump" Thomson (bass) with Dave's sister, Jo-Ann Kelly a regularly featured vocalist. The band picked up a strong following at the club with played host to visiting artists such as John Mayall, Keef Hartley, Mick Taylor, Champion Jack Dupree, Long John Baldry, Duster Bennett and Alexis Korner. The band signed to Mercury Records and their first album, Cabal, now regarded as a classic from the period, was released in 1968. John O'Leary and Tony McPhee left the band shortly afterwards, the latter, to re-form The Groundhogs.

With a new lead guitarist Adrian "Putty" Pietryga to replace McPhee, the band toured extensively in Britain and Europe and backed both Howling Wolf and John Lee Hooker on their respective tours.

John went on to release 8 more albums with various formations of the band.

John has toured and recorded with American blues men Lowell Fulson and Eddie C. Campbell and was both drummer and writer of the songs which gave chart success to Darts.

The John Dummer Blues Band at The Studio 51, London circa 1967/68

L/R Bob Hall (piano) Iain Thompson (bass), John O'Leary (harp), Dave Kelly (gtr)