Translate This Page

John O'Leary & Sugarkane

Sugarkane evolved from original John O'Leary Band which was established in  2002.  Since then the band has trail blazed an unique and uncompromising brand of blues based music and in the course of it's journey, has both thrilled and challenged audiences throughout the UK and Europe. The band's musical foundation lies wholeheartedly in the blues but there is also a hefty mix  of  jazz, funk, latin, rock and even reggae to produce a potent indicvidual musical brew. Noted for it's jamming approach, today, Sugarkane is an established and popular attraction on the British blues, rock & jazz scene. The band consists of founder John O'Leary, long term members Jules Fothergill (guitar),  Roger Inniss (bass), Jools Grudgings (keys), Joachim Greve (drums) reinforced by the recent addition of guitarist & composed Steve Wright.  As a 6 piece band, it is a breath of fresh air in a genre dominated by guitar/bass/drum trios.

Finding a pigeon hole for this band is impossible! It has been described as " blues harmonica meets The Mahavishnu Orchestra"  by Blues Matters magazine and by The Times newspaper as being "sprung like an industrial coil".Sugarkane is a band that will take you on a roller coaster of a ride. Every member of the band is acknowledged  by fans and critics alike as being among the very best on their respective instruments playing in Britain at the present time.

In 2011 the album "Two For The Show" was released to universal critical acclaim and headed the list of best releases by Blues Matters magazine. In addition, John was voted No. 2 in the harmonica category by  Blues Matters in 2011 and again in 2013.

John O'Leary (vocal/harp) - Jules Fothergill  (guitar) - Steve Wright (guitar) - Jools Grudgings (keys) - Roger Inniss (bass) - Joachim Greve (drums)

John o'Leary blues harmonica .....since 1965!

 ©  All Rights Reserved  2017